Recommendation-Diary of Saint Faustina

I am currently reading the Diary of Saint Faustina.  I am about halfway through the book at this point.  It is such an incredibly moving book.  This would be a book I recommend to ALL people–Catholic, protestant, agnostic, it doesn’t matter.

Sister Faustina was a Polish nun.  She had visions of Jesus and His mother.  She was directed to keep a diary and write about her visions.  To be honest, I can’t help but realize how lacking I am in sanctity when I read about her devotion to Jesus and His mercy.  As I said, it is moving, and there are parts that make my eyes well up with tears.  I was reading it to my mother before she died (unfortunately, I didn’t get to finish it with her), and there were times when she would tell me to stop because it would be too much for her emotionally.

It is through Sister Faustina that we received the image of the Divine Mercy, the Divine Mercy chaplet, and it is by direction of Jesus, through Sister Faustina, that we celebrate Divine Mercy Sunday one week after Easter.

If you don’t already own a copy of The Diary of Saint Faustina, you can get one here via my book recommendation page on Amazon.  It’s just a little over $6, and you can hardly spend such a small amount of money in any better way.  Books by saints–I love them.  And this one ranks at the top of the list.

Published in: on July 31, 2016 at 14:45  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michaelsrosaries.wordpress.com/2016/07/31/recommend-diary-of-saint-faustina/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

