Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary

Happy Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary!

I love the story of the Battle of Lepanto, which is why we have this feast day, but I thought that for this post, I will give you an excerpt from the book The Secret of the Rosary by Saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort.

A Parish Renewed through the Rosary

A Danish pastor was often wont to say–for the greater glory of God and the joy of his soul–that the same improvement the Spanish Bishop noticed in his diocese had occurred in his own parish.  He said:

“I had preached on the most important and fruitful aspects of Faith, with no profit at all.  I saw no spiritual improvement, and so I resolved to preach the Holy Rosary.

“I told the people of my parish how precious the Rosary was and I taught them how to say it.  I can state that after my people practiced this devotion for six months, I saw a most visible change in them.

“Truly this God-given prayer has divine power to touch our hearts and fill them with horror of sin and love of virtue.”

One day, our Lady said to Blessed Alan:  “Just as God chose the Angelic Salutation [Hail Mary] to bring about the Incarnation of His Word and the Redemption of the world, so those who desire to reform the morals of people and to regenerate them in Jesus Christ must honor me and greet me with the same Salutation.

“I am the chosen way by which God came to the world and so, next to my Son Jesus Christ, it is through me that the world must obtain grace and virtue.”

I, who am writing this, have learned through personal experience that the Rosary has the power to convert the most hardened hearts.  I have known people upon whom the most terrifying truths preached at missions had no impression at all.  Yet when, upon my recommendation, they started saying the Rosary every day, they were converted and gave themselves wholeheartedly to God.

When I have gone back to visit parishes where I had conducted missions, I have seen a tremendous difference between one parish and another.  I parishes where people had given up the Rosary, they had usually reverted to their sinful ways.  But in parishes where people said the Rosary faithfully, I found that they were persevering in the grace of God and growing each day in virtue.

–Thirty-ninth Rose, The Secret of the Rosary, Saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort

Link to my post about the Battle of Lepanto where Pope Saint Pius V called for all of Europe to pray the Rosary for victory (and there was victory).

Published in: on October 7, 2012 at 21:02  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michaelsrosaries.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/feast-of-our-lady-of-the-rosary/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

